Sunpak DigiFlash 2800 for Nikon DSLR’s

Mini Review by Mark S. Wong
1/10/12

I’m fairly new to the DSLR world. My experience came from 35mm and 2¼” (medium format) cameras.  So now that I’ve finally decided I’m in this for good, I decided to build up my “kit” ( as the UKers say) to a similar level I had with my 35mm gear.  The only thing I felt I was lacking was a good flash unit.

I still had my HUGE Vivitar 283.  At one time I had two of them.  It seemed to work ok with my DSLR, but I read that they produce different voltages, and may cause problems with DSLR’s.  So I started the online search to find what would be the best unit for me.

Not being a total novice to the flash world, there were a few features I knew I had to have to make it a workable unit for me.

  • Bounce flash
  • Nikon iTTL
  • Guide number of at least 90

When I was in my photographic “heyday”, the flash to have was the Sunpak AP52, but alas, I could only afford the Vivitar flashes.  The Vivitars worked great, but they were huge and fragile at the same time.  If I could avoid these problems, that would be advantageous.

I decided on the Sunpak DigiFlash 2800 for Nikon.
It seemed to have all the features I wanted. It did have bounce capabilities, it did indeed integrate with my Nikon via iTTL, and it had a guide number of 100.  Enough power to do just about anything I want it to.  I ordered it though Amazon.com, and specifically through Cameta Camera.

When it arrived, I was surprised at the small size of the unit. It will fit just about anywhere and only takes two AA batteries.  The problems with the older flashes was that they became top-heavy and put a lot of stress on the hot shoe when attached. This unit was very light and the flash shoe connections were very close to the unit. It is sill a weak point of any flash, but not nearly as big of a problem than it used to be.

I shot a few photos in bounce mode, and they looked fantastic. I never realized how much I missed bounce flash.  I also shot a bunch of direct flash shots with the camera in continuous fire mode, and it kept up just fine, and the recycle time was very fast.

Because it is a iTTL flash, there are very few control on the unit. It has a manual test button / charge indicator.  A test light and exposure compensation adjustments.  It can’t be used as a manual flash, but that’s ok for me.  I really like how the photos come out with iTTL.

It works with the Nikon D40, D60, D3000, D3100, D5000, D90, D300, D300s, D7000 & D3 Digital SLR Cameras.

So far, this flash looks really good and will do everything I want it to do and  more.
Only time will tell, but so far I give this unit a thumbs up!

Oh, and as far as Cameta Cameras.  I found out they were in Farmingdale, NY on Long Island.  I used to have friends in that town, and hung out there in my youth.

 

3 responses

  1. It should have a ready light to tell you when it has charged up and is ready to shoot a photo.
    What model is it? I’ll check the specs on it.
    Check the batteries. If it has a cartridge where you put the batteries in the cartridge and then put the cartridge in the flash, I’ve found that at times they don’t make contact.

  2. Hey,

    I just acquired this flash and trying to get it working with my Nikon D40. Does it automatically sync itself? I can’t get it to fire.

    It may need a fresh set of batteries? Does it self charge?

    Let me know. Thanks.

  3. Great review. 🙂 Have fun with that flash!

Leave a Comment

