NIKD40 Battery Grip / Remote Release for Nikon

Not long ago I was in the middle of a photo shoot and realized I my battery was almost dead.  I was able to finish, but it made me realize I need more batteries.  While researching batteries, I found that for not much more, I could buy an entire battery grip.  So that is the route I went.

There are myriads of Chinese made battery grips out there.  What I wanted was one that would use multiple Nikon batteries for extended power, but also be able to take AA batteries in a pinch. The one I selected was the NIKD40. I purchased it off of eBay.  As to the manufacture, I have no idea who it would be.  A lot of equipment comes from China nowadays unbranded.

The first thing I noticed that it was huge!  This actually is not a problem because I found out that most battery grips are about the same size.

Cool Features

It came with two Nikon clone batteries, battery cartridges for both two Nikon batteries and for six AA batteries, and a vertical shutter release system.

To use the grip, you have to take off the stock battery door. The grip has a nice little slot to store the door in. This way you don’t lose it, and can put it back on if you need it.

You can place two Nikon Batteries in the cartridge for double the battery life, or it will still take just a single battery and work fine.

You can also load six AA batteries in the other cartridge to power the camera. This is a great feature, because in a pinch, you can get AA batteries anywhere.  If you can’t find a place to charge your batteries, you can still keep shooting.

Vertical Shutter

I was very curious as to how this worked. It’s pretty ingenious, if y0u ask me.  It utilizes the cameras infrared remote shutter capabilities by adding a pop out IR transmitter and a release button on the battery grip.  When you set your camera to use a remote shutter release, the IR transmitter on the grip is triggered by the vertical button and sends a signal to the camera to take the photo.

This also means that if you put the stock battery door back on, you can actually use the grip as a remote shutter release without spending the extra money to get the official one from Nikon.  I tested it, and it really works!

Conclusion

This is a cool gadget that really works!

It fits the Nikon D40, D40X, D60, and D3000 DSLR cameras

Photos taken by a Fuji FinePix S5100

3 responses

  1. Ah, I just answered my own question. There is no halfway point to the button. Once you push it, the lens will focus and then the camera will take the picture. By using the grip you can`t hold the button halfway as you wait for the right moment to take the picture. Once you push that button you are commited. 🙂 Not a big deal I guess.

  2. I just received mine in the mail. The release button on the grip does not seem to have the halfway point to allow me to focus. Does yours do that too?

  3. I also found that the grip seems to add very little weight to the overall camera.
    It is easier to hold because of the extra volume, but does not weight you down.

Leave a Comment

